Username:
Password:
Remember Me?
   Lost your password?
Search

GTX 275 versus HD 4890
Continuation: Review: Ati Radeon HD 4890 versus Nvidia Geforce GTX 275


For this review we used brand new drivers delivered by AMD and Nvidia. The Catalyst we were given has the internal serial number 8.592 - The Catalyst 9.3 WHQL is tagged with 8.591. For the Nvidia cards we got the Geforce 185.63.

The test system was based on the following components:

• CPU: Intel Core i7-920 @ 3.500 MHz (175x20)
• Motherboard: Asus P6T (X58 chipset)
• RAM: 3 x 2.048 MiByte DDR3-1400 (7-7-7-20)
• PSU: Enermax Modu 82+ (625 Watt Nennleistung)
• Display: Dell Ultrasharp 3008WFP (30 inch LCD, 2.560x1.600 Pixel)

Geforce graphics cards (clock speeds: GPU/Shader/VRAM)
• Geforce GTX 285 (648/1.476/1.242 MHz, 1.024 MiByte)
• Geforce GTX 275 (633/1.404/1.134 MHz, 896 MiByte)
• Geforce GTX 260-216 (576/1.242/999 MHz, 896 MiByte)
• Geforce 8800 GTX (576/1.350/900 MHz, 768 MiByte)
• Geforce 8800 GT (602/1.512/900 MHz, 512 MiByte)

Radeon graphics cards (clock speeds: GPU/VRAM)
• Radeon HD 4890/1G @ 950/2.200 MHz, 1.024 MiByte ("Average OC")
• Radeon HD 4890/1G (850/1.950 MHz, 1.024 MiByte)
• Radeon HD 4870/1G @ HD 4890 (850/1.950 MHz) (for RV790 vs. RV770 at the same frequencies)
• Radeon HD 4870/1G (750/1.800 MHz, 1.024 MiByte)
• Radeon HD 4870/512M (750/1.800 MHz, 512 MiByte)
• Radeon HD 4850/512M (625/993 MHz, 512 MiByte)

Drivers
• Geforce 185.63 Beta (default settings with VSync off)
• Catalyst v8.592; 9.3 based (default settings with VSync off)

All FSAA setting have been applied in-game and anisotropic filtering is either activated in the game or forced via the driver.

Benchmark selection
GTA 4: New benchmark
 
GTA 4: New benchmark [Source: view picture gallery]
We tested the graphics cards in the following games:
• Call of Duty World at War v1.3
• Crysis Warhead v1.1
• Fallout 3 v1.0.4.6 + HD-Texture pack
• Far Cry 2 v1.02
• GTA 4 v1.030
• Half-Life 2: Episode 2 + Fakefactory Cinematic Mod v9.51
• Stalker: Clear Sky v1.0008
• Race Driver: Grid v1.2


The games have been tested with maximal detail settings and the following screen resolutions:

• 1.280 x 1.024, 4x MSAA/16:1 AF
• 1.680 x 1.050, 4x MSAA/16:1 AF
• 1.920 x 1.200, 8x MSAA/16:1 AF
• 2.560 x 1.600, 8x MSAA/16:1 AF

We reserved the right to leave out irrelevant seetings (like Crysis at 2,560 x 1,600) and FSAA isn't always active (in GTA 4 for example). See the individual benchmark charts for more details.



--
Author: Vötter, Sauter (Apr 02, 2009)






Advertisement

Comments (8)

Comments 5 to 8  Read all comments here!
Hyperhorn Re: Review: Ati Radeon HD 4890 versus Nvidia Geforce GTX 275
Admin/Spambot-Killer
03.04.2009 16:30
...and don`t forget the memory interface (448 vs. 512 Bit) also. In 1280 x 1024 and 1680 x 1050 the GTX 275 is very close to the GTX 285, but then at 1920 x 1200 the difference gets bigger. But in 2560 x 1600 the difference isn`t that big as you might expect, when you compare the previor settings. Fallout 3 is a good example.
Yapa Re: Review: Ati Radeon HD 4890 versus Nvidia Geforce GTX 275
Senior Member
03.04.2009 16:05
hmm not sure how you guys are looking at the results, but to me the GTX275 wins on performance more times than the 4890.
I'm looking at the 1680x1050 resolution mainly... but I just looked through all the benchmarks at 1920x1200 and yes the 4890 comes out in front a few times more because of its extra memory... but its still the GTX275 to win in many at that res.

The only game that the 4890 really shines in is GRID... and that has always been the case for ATI. Crysis also benefits at 1920x1200 from the 4890's larger memory.

Also remember the 4890 OC is an overclocked card, they did not show an overclocked GTX275.

Kristoffer:
hehe very true, hope you get another GTX275 soon

Yapa
pcghx_Kristoffer Re: Review: Ati Radeon HD 4890 versus Nvidia Geforce GTX 275
Administrator
03.04.2009 13:32
Quote: (Originally Posted by Yapa)
Any chance of SLI / CF followup? Yapa


We are currently running some HD 4890 CF benchmarks, so stay tuned. As the GTX 275 is regarded, we would have a hard time trying to get SLI running since we only have one card at the moment

Copyright © 2014 by Computec Media GmbH      About/Imprint  •  Terms/Conditions