Username:
Password:
Remember Me?
   Lost your password?
Search

GTX 275 versus HD 4890
Continuation: Review: Ati Radeon HD 4890 versus Nvidia Geforce GTX 275


Radeon HD 4870 @ HD 4890 (850/1.950 MHz)
 
Radeon HD 4870 @ HD 4890 (850/1.950 MHz) [Source: view picture gallery]
Radeon HD 4890 (850/1.950 MHz)
 
Radeon HD 4890 (850/1.950 MHz) [Source: view picture gallery]
AMD mentions slight internal improvements on the RV790. We check their effect in all the benchmarks on the next pages. In order to do so, we overclocked a HD 4870/1G (750/900 MHz)to the frequencies of the HD 4890 (850/975 MHz). In the benchmark charts those results are clearly labeled as "HD 4870 @ HD 4890”. The interesting result: The HD 4890 is, on average, slower than the overclocked 4870. We estimate that on the 4890 GDDR5 memory with slightly higher latencies is used which has a bigger effect than the internal face lifting. This impression was backed up when we had a HD 4890 run at the HD 4870 frequencies.

In addition to the game benchmarks on the next pages we have results from 3DMark 06. As you can see the GPU related results (MT Fill Rate, Vertex Shader etc.) don't differ much. But when the bandwidth is regarded, which is important for the Shader Particles and the SM3 test, the HD 4870 is always in front - no matter if a HD 4890 is running as a HD 4870 or the other way around.

Radeon HD 4870 (750/1.800 MHz)
 
Radeon HD 4870 (750/1.800 MHz) [Source: view picture gallery]
Radeon HD 4890 @ HD 4870 (750/1.800 MHz)
 
Radeon HD 4890 @ HD 4870 (750/1.800 MHz) [Source: view picture gallery]





--
Author: Vötter, Sauter (Apr 02, 2009)






Advertisement

Comments (8)

Comments 5 to 8  Read all comments here!
Hyperhorn Re: Review: Ati Radeon HD 4890 versus Nvidia Geforce GTX 275
Admin/Spambot-Killer
03.04.2009 16:30
...and don`t forget the memory interface (448 vs. 512 Bit) also. In 1280 x 1024 and 1680 x 1050 the GTX 275 is very close to the GTX 285, but then at 1920 x 1200 the difference gets bigger. But in 2560 x 1600 the difference isn`t that big as you might expect, when you compare the previor settings. Fallout 3 is a good example.
Yapa Re: Review: Ati Radeon HD 4890 versus Nvidia Geforce GTX 275
Senior Member
03.04.2009 16:05
hmm not sure how you guys are looking at the results, but to me the GTX275 wins on performance more times than the 4890.
I'm looking at the 1680x1050 resolution mainly... but I just looked through all the benchmarks at 1920x1200 and yes the 4890 comes out in front a few times more because of its extra memory... but its still the GTX275 to win in many at that res.

The only game that the 4890 really shines in is GRID... and that has always been the case for ATI. Crysis also benefits at 1920x1200 from the 4890's larger memory.

Also remember the 4890 OC is an overclocked card, they did not show an overclocked GTX275.

Kristoffer:
hehe very true, hope you get another GTX275 soon

Yapa
pcghx_Kristoffer Re: Review: Ati Radeon HD 4890 versus Nvidia Geforce GTX 275
Administrator
03.04.2009 13:32
Quote: (Originally Posted by Yapa)
Any chance of SLI / CF followup? Yapa


We are currently running some HD 4890 CF benchmarks, so stay tuned. As the GTX 275 is regarded, we would have a hard time trying to get SLI running since we only have one card at the moment

Copyright © 2014 by Computec Media GmbH      About/Imprint  •  Terms/Conditions